Back to top
Shopping Cart - $0.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Debra Curties


Debra Curties

Phone:  1.888.649.5411
Fax:  1.416.923.8116


Debra Curties has been a massage therapist since graduating from Sutherland-Chan School in Toronto in 1984 and successfully completing registration requirements in Ontario and British Columbia. Prior to becoming a massage therapist, her work experiences included community work with homeless and troubled teenagers and instructing in Women’s Studies at the University of Toronto and York University. Her inclinations and interests found a natural integration in massage therapy education.

Debra has been teaching Pathology/Clinical Theory at Sutherland-Chan since 1987. She is currently also Sutherland-Chan’s Executive Director and a co-owner. Her love of teaching and the massage therapy profession have been reflected in many of the roles she has assumed in the past 25+ years, including president of the American Massage Therapy Association’s Council of Schools, trustee of the Massage Therapy Foundation and chair of the Leadership Development Committee of the Alliance for Massage Therapy Education. Debra has participated in numerous committees and projects on behalf of massage therapy education in Canada, for example, the committee that developed the original Ontario Core Curriculum Agreement, the expert panel that reviewed the CMTO Standards of Practice, the Ontario Tripartite Committee and the CMTA Accreditation Sub-Committee.

In demand as a continuing education presenter, Debra has taught workshops across North America. She is the author of two textbooks, Massage Therapy and Cancer and Breast Massage, the COPI Notebook Skin: A Manual Practitioner’s Overview of Functions and Common Disorders, and numerous articles in professional publications. She is also a founding owner of Curties- Overzet Publications.

Debra has been honoured as a recipient of the Ontario Massage Therapist Association’s Meritorious Service Award and the AMTA Council of Schools Meritorious Service Award.